x Abu Dhabi, UAESunday 21 January 2018

IPL: Delhi Daredevils down Mumbai Indians for first win

Virender Sehwag and Mahela Jayawardene lead the way as Delhi finally recorded their first victory of the 2013 Indian Premier League season.

Mumbai 161-4 (20 ov)

Delhi 165-1 (17 ov)

Toss Mumbai, chose to bat

Mumbai Sharma 73, Tendulkar 54; Yadav 2-31

Delhi Sehwag 95, Jayawardene 59; Malinga 1-26

Man of the match Virender Sehwag (Delhi)

Virender Sehwag and Mahela Jayawardene were the heroes for Delhi Daredevils yesterday as they smashed their way to a tricky target to hand their side their first win of the Indian Premier League season.

The Mumbai Indians put 161 on the board after winning the toss and choosing to bat on a hot Delhi afternoon.

Some dreadful bowling helped the visitors to their total, with Rohit Sharma hitting 73 and Sachin Tendulkar helping himself to a half-century 54.

However, if Delhi's bowling was bad, Mumbai's was worse.

Sehwag struck an unbeaten 95, including 14 boundaries and two sixes, while Jayawardene got to 59 before he was adjudged leg-before off Lasith Malinga.

David Warner chipped in with 7 to get Delhi across the line.

However, they remain rooted to the bottom of the IPL table on two points.


twitter Follow us @SprtNationalUAE