Abu Dhabi, UAESaturday 29 February 2020

Sudan's civilian opposition puts forward five sovereign council nominees

It follows the signing of a power-sharing agreement with the military

Thousands went to the streets to welcome the agreement on Saturday. AFP
Thousands went to the streets to welcome the agreement on Saturday. AFP

Sudan’s opposition coalition has named its five members for the country’s ruling sovereign council, a member of the civilian group said.

The civilian coalition chose Aisha Mousa, Siddig Tower, Mohamed Suleiman, Hassan Idris and Taha Ishaq after a power-sharing agreement was signed with the military, Sateh Al Hajj told Sudan’s official news agency Suna.

It should lead to a transitional government and eventual elections.

Long-time ruler Omar Al Bashir was removed from power in April after violent country-wide protests.

The Transitional Military Council has already announced three of its five candidates. They are council leader Lt Gen Abdel Fattah Al Burhan, Gen Mohamed Dagalo and Lt Gen Yasser Al Atta.

Both sides will work together to choose a civilian as the 11th and final member of the sovereign council, which will be the highest authority in Sudan but will delegate executive powers to a Cabinet of ministers.

The military members will select the head of the council for the first 21 months of the transition period, which will last three years and three months.

Sudan’s opposition has nominated economist Abdalla Hamdok for prime minister and he could be appointed this week.

Following the signing of the power-sharing agreement, US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said his country would support a path to “free and fair elections”.

The UK’s Africa minister, Andrew Stephenson, said: “I welcome this historic moment for Sudan. This agreement responds to the demands of the Sudanese people who have tirelessly called for change and a better future.”

Updated: August 19, 2019 08:43 AM



Most Popular