Abu Dhabi, UAEFriday 20 September 2019

Laws issued for establishment of Abu Dhabi Government departments

President Sheikh Khalifa, in his capacity as Ruler of Abu Dhabi, has issued a series of laws establishing a number of government departments for the emirate.

In relation to the laws, Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces and Chairman of the Abu Dhabi Executive Council, issued resolutions regulating the mandates for these departments.

They include the Department of Urban Planning and Municipalities, the Department of Transport, the Department of Economic Development (DED), the Department of Culture and Tourism, the Department of Education and Knowledge (ADEK), the Department of Health and the Department of Energy.

A law was also issued by the President for the establishment of the Abu Dhabi Department of Community Development.

The DED recently launched the Abu Dhabi Investment Office to help achieve double-digit annual growth in foreign direct investments.

In September, ADEK was created when the Abu Dhabi Education Council was made a government department according to a decree issued by President Sheikh Khalifa.

That decision followed a reshuffle the Abu Dhabi Executive Council, the local executive authority of the emirate.


Read more:

UAE Armed Forces pull off massive military spectacle in Al Ain

'Something out of a film': thousands turn out for military show in Al Ain

Emirates celebrate Kuwait National Day

Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed meets with Bill Clinton in Abu Dhabi

Sheikh Mohammed visits Afghan carpet shop worker made famous through viral video - in pictures


Updated: February 24, 2018 09:53 PM