x

Abu Dhabi, UAETuesday 19 June 2018

Al Dhafra Festival 2017: What's on

It's not just good looking dromedaries – our guide to events at the 'world’s largest camel beauty pageant'

The Al Dhafra festival runs until December 27. Satish Kumar for the National
The Al Dhafra festival runs until December 27. Satish Kumar for the National

The annual Al Dhafra festival has more than just camel pageants. Traditional cooking and clothing competitions will be held at Al Dhafra’s traditional souq throughout the festival and this year, for the first time, the Al Dhafra Shooting Club will host shooting competitions for young people and adults daily. Poetry competitions will be held at the traditional souq most evenings from 6pm onwards.

Other events will include:

Thursday, December 14

Milking competition – traditional souq, 10am

Classic car competition – traditional souq, 10am

Friday, December 15

Date auction (dabbas) – traditional souq, 10am

Falcon auction – falconry course, 2pm

Saturday, December 16

Saluki auction – traditional souq, 3pm

Date auction (dabbas) – traditional souq, 10am

Sunday, December 17

Date auction (dabbas) – traditional souq, 10am

Monday, December 18

Arabian horse races – horse racetrack, 1pm

Tuesday, December 19

Qualifying race for Arabian salukis – horse racetrack, 1pm

Wednesday, December 20

Falconry competition – falconry course, 10am

Date auction (shishi) – traditional souq, 10am

Thursday, December 21

Falconry competition – falconry course, 9am

Date auction (fardh) – traditional souq, 10am

Tuesday, December 26

Saluki championship finals – camel racetrack, 2pm

Wednesday, December 27

Sheep competition – tbc, 10am