x Abu Dhabi, UAETuesday 23 January 2018

Sri Lanka beat West Indies to clinch series 2-0

The visitors fail to recover from a poor start in chase of 278 for victory with Mendis and Perera sharing seven wickets.

COLOMBO // Ajantha Mendis and Thisara Perera shared seven wickets as Sri Lanka won the third one-day international against the West Indies by 26 runs to clinch the series 2-0.

The West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and sent the hosts in to bat first at Sinhalese Sports Club. Sri Lanka made 277 for nine in 50 overs with captain Kumar Sangakkara (75) and Mahela Jayawardene (44) sharing a 95-run partnership. Sulieman Benn returned four for 38.

West Indies lost two wickets without scoring to open its innings but a 125-run partnership for the third wicket between Darren Bravo (79) and Ramnaresh Sarwan (44) lifted their spirits. But the touring side was limited thereafter and reached only 251 all out in 49 overs.

Mendis finished with figures of 4-46 and Perera returned 3-36.


Sri Lanka:

U Tharanga b Benn 39

T Dilshan c Baugh b D Bravo 30

K Sangakkara b Benn 75

M Jayawardene c Miller b Rampaul 44

C Kapugedera b Benn 17

T Samaraweera st Baugh b Benn 4

T Perera c Baugh b DJ Bravo 6

A Mathews not out 36

R Herath run out 2

A Mendis run out 8

Extras: (lb-7, w-9) 16

Total: (nine wickets, 50 overs) 277

Fall of wickets: 1-54 2-92 3-187 4-205 5-216 6-227 7-239 8-244 9-277

Bowling: Rampaul 5-0-44-1 (2w), Sammy 10-1-61-0 (1w), DJ Bravo 10-0-58-2 (2w), Gayle 10-0-34-0 (3w), Benn 10-1-38-4 (1w), Miller 5-0-35-0

West Indies:

C Gayle b Fernando 0

A Barath c Sangakkara b Perera 0

DM Bravo lbw b Perera 79

R Sarwan lbw b Herath 51

S Chanderpaul c Jayawardene b Mendis 3

DJ Bravo c Perera b Fernando 32

D Sammy c Mendis b Perera 3

C Baugh c Samaraweera b Mendis 49

N Miller c Mathews b Mendis 13

S Benn c Samaraweera b Mendis 6

R Rampaul not out 0

Extras: (b-1, lb-4, w-10) 15

Total: (all out, 49 overs) 251

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-0, 3-125, 4-128, 5-155, 6-159, 7-195, 8-236, 9-251, 10-251

Bowling: Fernando 10-1-45-2 (2w), Perera 9-2-36-3, Mathews 6-0-33-0 (2w), Mendis 10-1-46-4 (4w), Kapugedera 1-0-7-0 (1w), Dilshan 3-0-25-0, Herath 10-0-54-1 (1w)