x Abu Dhabi, UAEWednesday 24 January 2018

Ferrari to leave F1 if demands not met

Ferrari submit an entry for next year but say they will not compete unless 'the conditions of its entry are satisfied.'

Ferrari's Finnish driver Kimi Raikkonen drives at the Istanbul Park circuit.
Ferrari's Finnish driver Kimi Raikkonen drives at the Istanbul Park circuit.

The FIA, motor sport's governing body, has left the door open to five of the current Formula One teams to enter the sport for next year. McLaren, Renault, Toyota, BMW Sauber and Brawn GP have been named on the entry list for 2010, although they only have a week to submit an unconditional entry. "These five teams have submitted conditional entries. The FIA has invited them to lift those conditions following further discussions to be concluded not later than close of business on Friday 19 June," the FIA said in a statement. Motor sport's world governing body has confirmed that Manor Grand Prix, Campos Grand Prix and Team US F1 are the three new teams on the grid from next season. Ferrari have been given an entry, but that could now prompt a legal battle as they, along with the other seven members of the Formula One Teams' Association, initially submitted conditional entries.

A statement issued by Ferrari said: "Following publication of the list of entries for the 2010 Formula One World Championship, which includes Ferrari as an unconditional entrant, Ferrari wishes to state the following: Ferrari submitted on 29 May 2009 an entry to the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship which is subject to certain conditions. "As of today, these conditions have not been met. Notwithstanding this and despite Ferrari's previous written notice to the FIA not to do so, the FIA has included Ferrari as an unconditional participant in next year's Formula One World Championship. "For the avoidance of any doubt, Ferrari reaffirms that it shall not take part in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship under the regulations adopted by the FIA in violation of Ferrari's rights under a written agreement with the FIA." Red Bull Racing and sister team Toro Rosso have also been handed an entry by the FIA, who will argue they and Ferrari are contractually obliged to be involved.

However, Ferrari have already argued the FIA invalidated a contract agreed in 2005 as president Max Mosley failed to keep his side of the deal by not consulting with the teams over the rule changes. Williams and Force India have places on the 2010 grid. The battle with Ferrari could run throughout the summer, but as far as McLaren, Renault, Toyota, BMW Sauber and Brawn GP are concerned, they now have seven days to decide which way to go. If they fail to submit a conditional entry, the FIA will return to the pool of potential new entrants as they are determined to have a 26-car grid in place for next year. It means the furore sparked by Mosley's desire to introduce a cost cap for next season will continue for another week at least.

In a bid to slash spending and introduce fresh blood into F1, the 69-year-old initially announced a voluntary £40 million (Dh243m) budget cap, prompting uproar among the current teams. It would have established a two-tier F1, with the new teams working within the cap being allowed a degree of technical freedom, while for those outside they would have been forced to apply this year's rules. *PA Sport