x Abu Dhabi, UAESaturday 22 July 2017

India whitewash New Zealand 5-0 in ODIs

Ravichandran Ashwin led a devastating spin attack as a second-string side thrashes the visitors by eight wickets in the fifth game in Chennai.

The Indians celebrate a dismissal as the Kiwis were bundled out for just 103.
The Indians celebrate a dismissal as the Kiwis were bundled out for just 103.

Ravichandran Ashwin led a devastating spin attack as a second-string India thrashed New Zealand by eight wickets in the fifth and final one-day international on Friday for a 5-0 clean sweep.

The off-spinner grabbed three wickets for 24 runs off eight overs to help the hosts bowl out New Zealand for 103 off 27 overs before India coasted to the target with almost 29 overs to spare.

Part-time spinners Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan chipped in with two wickets apiece as New Zealand were bundled out for their lowest total in one-day internationals against India.

Parthiv Patel (56 not out) struck his second half-century in a row and added 97 runs for the third wicket with Yuvraj (42 not out) to guide India to a comfortable win in the day-night game at the Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

New Zealand suffered their second series whitewash on the trot, having lost 4-0 to Bangladesh in a preceding one-day tournament.

For India, it was their second clean sweep at home since their triumph over England in 2008.

India's chase was rocked by early setbacks with captain Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli being dismissed inside the first four overs.

Gambhir edged Nathan McCullum behind the stumps off the third ball of the innings and Kohli was snapped up in the slips off captain and left-arm spinner Daniel Vettori.

Patel, back in the Indian team after a six-year hiatus, survived some early jitters to hit six fours and a six in his 70-ball knock. Yuvraj, named man-of-the-match, smashed six fours and two sixes off 46 balls.

Nothing went right for New Zealand after Vettori won the toss and elected to bat.

Fast bowler Praveen Kumar struck in the first over, removing Martin Guptill with his fourth delivery before left-arm paceman Ashish Nehra dismissed Brendon McCullum and Ross Taylor in successive overs.

The Indian spinners, led by Ashwin, then got into action, accounting for the rest of the seven wickets to fall.

New Zealand's batsmen struggled in overcast conditions, with a 43-run stand by Jamie How (23) and Scott Styris (24) the only decent effort.

India, fielding a weakened side in the series in order to give rest to their big guns ahead of an upcoming tour of South Africa, proved their bench strength with a clinical all-round performance.


New Zealand
Guptill c Parthiv b Kumar 0
McCullum lbw b Nehra 14
How b Yuvraj 23
Taylor c Parthiv b Nehra 9
Styris lbw b Ashwin 24
Franklin not out 17
Elliott lbw b Yuvraj 0
Vettori c Yuvraj b Pathan 9
McCullum c Yuvraj b Pathan 1
Mills c Tiwary b Ashwin 4
Southee c Sharma b Ashwin 0
Extras: (w2) 2
Total (all out; 27 overs) 103
Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-14, 3-28, 4-71, 5-73, 6-74, 7-90, 8-98, 9-103
Bowling: Kumar 6-1-20-1 (w1), Nehra 5-0-34-2 (w1), Patel 3-0-9-0, Ashwin 8-1-24-3, Yuvraj 2-0-5-2, Pathan 3-0-11-2

Gambhir c B McCullum b N McCullum 0
Patel not out 56
Kohli c Taylor b Vettori 2
Singh not out 42
Extras (lb2, w5) 7
Total (two wickets; 211 overs) 107
Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-10
Bowling: N McCullum 6-1-26-1, Vettori 6-0-30-1 (w-1), Styris 4-0-7-0, Mills 1-0-15-0, Elliott 41-0-27-0

India win by eight wickets

Player of the match: Yuvraj Singh (India)
Player of the series:
Gautam Gambhir (India)