x Abu Dhabi, UAEFriday 19 January 2018

India lose way to Sri Lanka in the final

Wickets fall at regular intervals as Perera and Randiv bowl the hosts to a 74-run victory for the tri-series trophy.

Sri Lanka won the final of the one-day international tri-series beating India by 74 runs after Tillakaratne Dilshan hit his eighth ODI hundred and Thisara Perera and Suraj Randiv took three wickets each.

Sri Lanka scored 299 for eight in 50 overs with Dilshan scoring 110 from 115 balls with 12 boundaries and a six. Captain Kumar Sangakkara scored 71 off 62 balls.

India was bowled out for 225 in the 47th over at Rangiri Dambulla Stadium, with captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni top-scoring with 67. Perera took three for 36 and Randiv three for 40.

India started its chase aggressively when Virender Sehwag, the highest scorer of the series, scored nine runs in the first over bowled by Lasith Malinga including two well-timed boundaries. But the team suffered a setback in the last ball of the same over when Dinesh Karthik was adjudged caught behind to a delivery that appeared only to brush past his thigh to wicketkeeper Sangakkara. Karthik in disappointment dropped his helmet and hit it with the bat as he walked back to the pavilion, a gesture that could be deemed as showing dissent to the umpire's decision.

India suffered its biggest blow when in-form Sehwag was run out for 28 run with the total on 38. Virat Kohli and Yuvraj Singh combined for a 50-run partnership for the third wicket to raise India's hopes but seamer Perera elicited an edge off Yuvraj to Sangakkara to end a threatening stand. Kohli made 37 and top-edged a rising delivery from Perera and Anjelo Mathews took a good catch. With the required run rate climbing Suresh Raina mistimed off spinner Randiv for a catch to Dilshan. Rohit Sharma was dismissed in an uncommon fashion when he was beaten by Randiv and was stumped by a ball that hit Sangakkara's leg and rebounded to the stumps. Dhoni was last out bowled by Randiv after a 100-ball innings which included five boundaries and a six.

Earlier, Mahela Jayawardene made 39 and put on 121 with Dilshan for the opening wicket after Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat first in the afternoon. Jayawardene was out caught by Karthik off Ishant Sharma in the 21st over. Upul Tharanga departed on 6 with 11 more runs added to the total, caught by wicketkeeper Dhoni off spinner Yuvraj. Sangakkara and Dilshan then shared 85 runs for the third wicket. Chamara Silva was 26 not out at the innings break. Dilshan was named man of the match for his century and Sehwag won the man of the series title for scoring 268 runs in five matches at an average of 67 runs per innings. He scored a century and a 99 not out. * AP

Sri Lanka: M Jayawardene c Karthik b I Sharma 39 T Dilshan c I Sharma b Kumar 110 U Tharanga c Dhoni b Singh 6 K Sangakkara c R Sharma b Patel 71 C Kapugedara c Karthik b Nehra 12 A Mathews c R Sharma b I Sharma 1 C Silva not out 26 T Perera c Dhoni b Patel 6 S Randiv run out 4 N Kulasekara not out 0 Extras: (lb-12, w-12) 24 Total: (eight wickets, 50 overs) 299 Fall of wickets: 1-121, 2-132, 3-217, 4-242, 5-258, 6-261, 7-294, 8-298 Bowling: Kumar 10-0-72-1 (w-5), Patel 9-1-43-2 (w-1), Nehra 10-0-60-1 (w-5), I Sharma 8-0-54-2 (w-1), Singh 8-0-37-1, Sehwag 5-0-21-0 India: V Sehwag run out 28 D Karthik c Sangakkara b Malinga 0 V Kohli c Mathews b Perera 37 Y Singh c Sangakkara b Perera 26 MS Dhoni b Randiv 67 S Raina c Dilshan b Randiv 29 R Sharma st Sangakkara b Randiv 5 P Kumar b Malinga 14 I Sharma b Perera 0 A Nehra c Perera b Mathews 2 M Patel not out 0 Extras: (b-4, lb-1, nb-4, w-8) 17 Total: (all out, 465 overs) 225 Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-38, 3-88, 4-109, 5-158, 6-177, 7-201, 8-210 9-224 Bowling: Malinga 9-0-49-2 (w-1, nb-2), Kulasekara 9-0-47-0 (w-2), Mathews 10-0-48-1 (w-2, nb-2), Perera 9-2-36-3 (w-2), Randiv 95-1-40-3 (w-1)