x Abu Dhabi, UAESaturday 22 July 2017

Rory McIlroy and Tiger Woods kept apart on final day

European team to honour Seve Ballesteros by wearing the blue and white favoured by the Spanish great.

Rory McIlroy and Tiger Woods will not face each other for the second Ryder Cup in a row.

American captain Davis Love has put Woods out last in Sunday's singles, while world number one McIlroy is out third against unbeaten Keegan Bradley as Europe try to claw back their four-point deficit.

Luke Donald leads things off for Jose Maria Olazabal's side and will play Masters champion Bubba Watson.

Saturday hero Ian Poulter, who like Bradley has won his first three games, follows against US Open champion Webb Simpson.

Woods faces Francesco Molinari just as he did at Celtic Manor two years ago. The Italian lost 4&3.

Olazabal said: "Obviously we could not hide anything. We are trailing by four points and we have to put the players that are playing well up there.

"We knew they [the Americans] would know that but if we want to win this match at the end of the day we have to take the big guys down.

"I believe that it's not over. That's what I learned from Seve and what I tried to pass to the players. It's not over until it's over."

It has was confirmed yesterday that Europe's team will be dressed in the blue and white favoured by the late Seve Ballesteros when they play the singles in Chicago today.

Ballesteros, Europe's talisman in the event for so long and then captain in his native Spain in 1997, died in May last year after a long battle with a brain tumour.

His partner during most of his cup career was Jose Maria Olazabal, who is the European captain this year, and as well as having the image of Ballesteros on their bags the players will also have his silhouette on their shirts.

"We have Seve's blue and white, Seve on the bag and his right-hand man as our captain hopefully seeing us home," said Ian Poulter, winner of all his three games despite the Americans building a 10-6 lead.

As holders Europe need a 14-14 tie to retain the trophy. That means winning eight and losing only four of the remaining games.

Draw for the final day singles (all times UAE, US names first):

8.03pm Bubba Watson v Luke Donald

8.14pm Webb Simpson v Ian Poulter

8.25pm Keegan Bradley v Rory McIlroy

8.36pm Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose

8.47pm Brandt Snedeker v Paul Lawrie

8.58pm Dustin Johnson v Nicolas Colsaerts

9.09pm Zach Johnson v Graeme McDowell

9.20pm Jim Furyk v Sergio Garcia

9.31pm Jason Dufner v Peter Hanson

9.42pm Matt Kuchar v Lee Westwood

9.53pm Steve Stricker v Martin Kaymer

10.04pm Tiger Woods v Francesco Molinari