Abu Dhabi, UAEThursday 2 July 2020

PGA Championship: Lowdown, schedule and how to watch tournament on TV

With two days to go, here is what you need to know about the season's second golf major

Brooks Koepka won the PGA Championship last year with a score of -16 at Bellerive Country Club in August. Jamie Squire / AFP
Brooks Koepka won the PGA Championship last year with a score of -16 at Bellerive Country Club in August. Jamie Squire / AFP

The season's second major tees off later this week, with the world’s best golfers descending on New York in an attempt to get their name on the Wanamaker Trophy. Here’s the lowdown.

The event:

US PGA Championship, Bethpage State Park BK Course, Farmingdale, New York.

What is it?

Having celebrated its 100th edition last year, the season’s fourth major has become its second, moving forward from its traditional August date. Featuring 156 players (136 tour pros and 20 club pros) the prize fund has yet to be announced. Last year, it was US$11 million (Dh40.4m), with the winner banking $1.98m.

When is it?

Thursday to Sunday (May 16-19)

Where is it?

Bethpage Black, the AW Tillinghast design on Long Island. The course, famed for providing the world’s elite with a stern test of their talent, has previously hosted the US Open twice and two FedEx Cup Play-off events.

When Woods won in 2002

Who are the past champions?

Not surprisingly, Americans have dominated, with Walter Hagan and Jack Nicklaus holding the most victories, at five. Remarkably, Hagan’s all came between 1921 and 1927. Tiger Woods stands at four, with the most recent arriving in 2007, when he successfully defended. Meanwhile, Gene Sarazan and Sam Snead both have three. The most successful non-Americans are Gary Player, Nick Price, Vijay Singh and Rory McIlroy, who have won two apiece. Brooks Koepka is the defending champion this week.

In regards to the course, Woods won the 2002 US Open at Bethpage Black, while Lucas Glover lifted the trophy there seven years later. Of the two FedEx Cup events to be held there - both The Barclays - Nick Watney won in 2012, with Patrick Reed triumphing three years ago.

Standout threeballs:

As is tradition at the tournament, the three previous major winners have been grouped together for Rounds 1 and 2. Therefore Francesco Molinari (British Open), Brooks Koepka (defending champion) and Tiger Woods will play Thursday and Friday alongside one another. Other notable threeballs include:

  • Rory McIlroy, Jason Day, Phil Mickelson
  • Dustin Johnson, Jon Rahm, Jordan Spieth
  • Justin Rose, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson

How to watch?

As of yet, there is still no news that the tournament will be broadcast on UAE television, or streamed live in the region. The action begins on Thursday at 6:45am local time, which is 2:45pm in the Emirates.

Updated: May 14, 2019 10:32 AM



Most Popular