x Abu Dhabi, UAEWednesday 24 January 2018

Former winner forced out of HSBC Women's Champions after five-car pile-up

Ai Miyazato has withdrawn from the competition in Singapore this week with whiplash following an accident in Bangkok which also left Paula Creamer struggling to recover in time for the tournament.

Women's golfer Ai Miyazato in action in Thailand before the crash.
Women's golfer Ai Miyazato in action in Thailand before the crash.

Ai Miyazato has been forced to pull out of this week's HSBC Women's Champions in Singapore - after a car crash last week left at least two of the competitors with injuries.

The former champion has been left with whiplash from the five-car pile-up in Bangkok last Sunday which also left American star Paula Creamer struggling to recover.

The world number nine said she had stiffness in her neck, back and shoulders after the accident, which happened while the players were en route to the airport following the Honda LPGA Thailand.

"I still have some stiffness in my neck, shoulder, and back area but it is also a precautionary measure so as not to risk further injury this early in the season," the 2010 champion said, adding that she was "very disappointed".

"I now plan to return to Japan to see my trainer for a few days."

Creamer also cut short her appearance in Wednesday's pro-am to seek extra treatment for similar injuries. But the American, who earlier said it was "pretty amazing how we walked away", tweeted that she hoped to tee-off on tomorrow.

Also missing from the field is 25th-ranked Lydia Ko, the 15-year-old New Zealand amateur, who has become the most talked-about player on tour after winning last year's Canadian Women's Open and coming close at the season-opener in Australia.

Ariya Jutanugarn will hope to make up for her heartbreaking triple bogey on the final hole which cost her victory and left her in tears at last week's event in Pattaya.

Former teen prodigy Michelle Wie, currently ranked 73rd and playing on a sponsor's invite, and defending champion Angela Stanford will also contest a tournament whose other previous winners include Lorena Ochoa and Karrie Webb.


twitter Follow us @SprtNationalUAE