Abu Dhabi, UAEFriday 3 July 2020

Full schedule for first three weeks of Premier League restart

Clubs given a list of provisional kick-off times for opening rounds of matches

The provisional fixture list for the first three rounds of matches have been been revealed to Premier League clubs.

Action has been suspended since March 13 due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Opening matches of the restart are set to be played on Wednesday, June 17, when Sheffield United travel to Aston Villa (9pm kick-off UAE time) and Manchester City host Arsenal (11pm).

Tottenham's home clash with Manchester United – which will see Spurs manager Jose Mourinho go up against his old club – has been slated for Friday, June 19, at 11pm.

The Merseyside derby is planned for 10pm on Sunday, June 21. Liverpool could clinch the title with a win at Goodison Park, provided that Arsenal defeat Man City at the Etihad Stadium.

Third-placed Leicester City and fourth-placed Chelsea will play relegation-battlers Watford and Aston Villa, respectively, on the weekend of June 20-21.

All matches will be played behind closed doors and broadcast on UK TV.

Teams will be able to make five substitutions, rather than three, in each match for the rest of the season, once it restarts after the coronavirus lockdown.

Clubs approved new rules on Thursday that will also mean teams will be able to name nine substitutes instead of the usual seven.

While teams can make five substitutions, they will still only have three opportunities to make changes throughout the match, in a bid to restrict disruptions to matches.

Updated: June 4, 2020 11:16 PM



Most Popular