Abu Dhabi, UAETuesday 18 June 2019

Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay confirm 2030 World Cup bid

Bid for 2030 tournament likely to face competition from likes of China

The last time the Fifa World Cup was held in Asia was in 2002. David Josek / AP Photo
The last time the Fifa World Cup was held in Asia was in 2002. David Josek / AP Photo

Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay plan to make a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup.

The presidents of the three football federations held a joint news conference in Buenos Aires on Wednesday to announce the move.

The bidding process is not due to open for several more years, but Wednesday's announcement coincided with a visit by Fifa president Gianni Infantino to the Argentina Football Association's headquarters.

Argentina and Uruguay signalled their intention to launch a joint bid back in July, with Paraguay's addition strengthening their case.

The 2030 World Cup will be the centenary edition, with Uruguay having hosted the inaugural tournament in 1930.

China reportedly has an interest in bidding to host the 2030 edition, while European nations will once again be eligible under Fifa's rotating system.


Read more

Morocco's 2026 World Cup bid has plenty of merits for Fifa to consider

Corruption charges continue to haunt Qatar's troubled 2022 World Cup


Earlier on Wednesday, Infantino had spoken after a visit to the AFA's Buenos Aires office.

"It is an honour and a pleasure to be here, in the home of Argentinian football," he said.

"It is a great emotion to be in a country and in a city that wrote many of the most exciting pages, not only of the history of football, but also its myth. Argentina has contributed to making football what it is today."

Updated: October 4, 2017 11:04 PM



Editor's Picks