x Abu Dhabi, UAEWednesday 26 July 2017

Factbox on diving

Diving is the art of acrobatically jumping into the water from springboards or platforms of various heights.

This picture shows the varying heights of springboards and platforms that will be used at the Olympics.
This picture shows the varying heights of springboards and platforms that will be used at the Olympics.

The history of competitive diving can be traced back over 100 years. The nature of diving over this time has seen some major changes. Junior divers now often perform dives that were once banned at the Olympic Games. A report following the IV Olympiad suggested the elimination of the double somersault, because it was believed that a diver could not control the execution without risk of injury. Diving originated from people amusing themselves by jumping and diving from natural features such as rocks and cliffs or from structures built for other purposes such as piers and bridges. The early swimming and diving clubs were based on ponds.

Men: 10m platform 3m springboard Synchronized diving 10m platform Synchronized diving 3m springboard Women: 10m platform 3m springboard Synchronized diving 10m platform Synchronized diving 3m springboard

A total of 136 competitors, including 68 men and 68 women, will take part.

Springboard Diving Men: Bo Peng (China) Platform Diving Men: Jia Hu (China) Springboard Diving Women: Jingjing Guo (China) Platform Diving Women: Chantelle Newbery (Australia) Synchronised Springboard Diving Men: Thomas Bimis & Nikolaos Siranidis (Greece) Synchronised Platform Diving Men:Liang Tian & Jinghui Yang (China) Synchronised Springboard Diving Women: Jingjing Guo & Minxia Wu (China) Synchronised Platform Diving Women: Lishi Lao & Ting Li (China)

Sunday 10 August Women's 3m synchronised event Monday 11 August Men's 10m synchronised event Tuesday 12 August Women's 10m synchronised event Wednesday 13 August Men's 3m synchronised event Friday 15 August Women's 3m springboard preliminaries Saturday 16 August Women's 3m springboard semi-finals Sunday 17 August Women's 3m springboard final Monday 18 August Men's 3m springboard preliminaries Tuesday 19 August Men's 3m springboard semi-finals Men's 3m springboard final Wednesday 20 August Women's 10m preliminaries Thursday 21 August Women's 10m semi-finals Women's 10m final Friday 22 August Men's 10m preliminaries Saturday 23 August Men's 10m semi-finals and final

National Aquatics Centre