x Abu Dhabi, UAEFriday 28 July 2017

England rest Kevin Pietersen from New Zealand tour squads

The batsman will not feature in the one day squad for the tour to New Zealand next February as selectors look to reduce the workload of key players.

England batsman Kevin Pietersen will not be making the trip to New Zealand.
England batsman Kevin Pietersen will not be making the trip to New Zealand.

Kevin Pietersen has been rested for England's one-day and Twenty20 squads for the tour of New Zealand next February.

The batsman was included in the 50-over party for the five-match series in India next month following his successful return into the national set-up, but will not head to New Zealand as selectors look to manage the workload of key players.

James Anderson, Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann have returned to the 14-man one-day squad after being rested for the India series.

Stuart Broad returns from a heel injury to captain the 14-man T20 squad, with Steven Finn also back in the fold.

"Following on from the ODI tour to India the tour to New Zealand will require players to adapt to different conditions and will prove a real challenge for the squad as we look to continue the progress we have made in limited overs cricket recently, said Geoff Miller, England selector.

"There are a number of players who we have decided not to select for parts of the competitive programme this winter as we look to manage their workloads effectively while ensuring we remain competitive across all formats.

"We feel this is the best way of keeping players as physically and mentally fresh as possible during a demanding 2013 and beyond.

"Kevin Pietersen will miss the limited overs tour of New Zealand with Graeme Swann missing the T20 leg of the tour.

"This approach also provides an opportunity for talented young players to gain more international experience which will be important for their development and the development of England sides in the future."

England's three-match one day international series begins on February 17 in Hamilton.

England T20 and ODI squads for the tour of New Zealand:

T20 squad: Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire, cart), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Stuart Meaker (Surrey), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Luke Wright (Sussex).

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (Essex, cart), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).


twitter Follow us @SprtNationalUAE