Abu Dhabi, UAEThursday 20 February 2020

PSL 2020 fixtures: your official guide to the Pakistan Super League

The Twenty20 tournament's fifth staging starts next weekend with a host of star turns taking part in the competition being held in Pakistan in its entirety for the first time

The fifth season of the Pakistan Super League begins on Thursday, February 20, when Quetta Gladiators start their title defence against Islamabad United, the previous champions.

Much has changed since the sides lined up for the opening ceremony in Dubai this time last year. For the first time, the competition will be played in its entirety in Pakistan.

Dean Jones has left Islamabad United, after coaching them to two titles, and has turned up at Karachi Kings instead.

Misbah ul Haq is setting aside his role as supremo of almost everything in Pakistan cricket to fill the vacancy Jones has left for the tournament.

Some things stay the same, though. This competition has always been characterised by fine bowling – and fine fast-bowling in particular.

Young jets Naseem Shah and Mohammed Hasnain are together in the same line up for Quetta.

Dale Steyn is due to turn out for Islamabad, while Haris Rauf will be back where he started, with Lahore Qalandars, after a winter spent gilding his reputation in Australia.

Fixture list

Thursday, February 20 Quetta Gladiators v Islamabad United (Karachi)

Friday, February 21 Karachi Kings v Peshawar Zalmi (Karachi), Lahore Qalandars v Multan Sultans (Lahore)

Saturday, February 22 Quetta Gladiators v Peshawar Zalmi (Karachi), Islamabad United v Multan Sultans (Lahore)

Sunday, February 23 Karachi Kings v Quetta Gladiators (Karachi), Lahore Qalandars v Islamabad United (Lahore)

Wednesday, February 26 Multan Sultans v Peshawar Zalmi (Multan)

Thursday, February 27 Islamabad United v Quetta Gladiators (Rawalpindi)

Friday, February 28 Multan Sultans v Karachi Kings (Multan), Peshawar Zalmi v Lahore Qalandars (Rawalpindi)

Saturday, February 29 Multan Sultans v Quetta Gladiators (Multan), Islamabad United v Peshawar Zalmi (Rawalpindi)

Sunday, March 1 Islamabad United v Karachi Kings (Rawalpindi)

Monday, March 2 Peshawar Zalmi v Karachi Kings (Rawalpindi)

Tuesday, March 3 Quetta Gladiators v Lahore Qalandars (Lahore)

Wednesday, March 4 Islamabad United v Lahore Qalandars (Lahore)

Thursday, March 5 Peshawar Zalmi v Quetta Gladiators (Rawalpindi)

Friday, March 6 Karachi Kings v Multan Sultans (Lahore)

Saturday, March 7 Peshawar Zalmi v Islamabad United (Rawalpindi), Lahore Qalandars v Quetta Gladiators (Lahore)

Sunday, March 8 Multan Sultans vs Islamabad United (Rawalpindi), Lahore Qalandars vs Karachi Kings (Lahore)

Tuesday, March 10 Lahore Qalandars vs Peshawar Zalmi (Lahore)

Wednesday, March 11 Quetta Gladiators vs Multan Sultans (Lahore)

Thursday, March 12 Karachi Kings vs Lahore Qalandars (Karachi)

Friday, March 13 Peshawar Zalmi vs Multan Sultans (Karachi)

Saturday, March 14 Karachi Kings vs Islamabad United (Karachi)

Sunday, March 15 Multan Sultans vs Lahore Qalandars (Lahore), Quetta Gladiators vs Karachi Kings (Karachi)

Tuesday, March 17 Qualifier: Team 1 vs Team 2 (Karachi)

Wednesday, March 18 Eliminator 1: Team 3 vs Team 4 (Lahore)

Friday, March 20 Eliminator 2: Eliminator Winner vs Qualifier Runner-Up (Lahore)

Sunday, March 22 Final (Lahore)

Updated: February 19, 2020 11:48 AM



Most Popular