Abu Dhabi, UAEWednesday 19 September 2018

Brian Lara to coach Kerala Kings in T10 Cricket League to be held in UAE

Former West Indies batsman returns to cricket in Emirates with purpose of mentoring team led by Eoin Morgan

Brian Lara scored more than 20,000 runs in his international career. Clive Mason / Getty Images
Brian Lara scored more than 20,000 runs in his international career. Clive Mason / Getty Images

Brian Lara will return to cricket in the UAE in December when he takes up the role of coach of Kerala Kings in the T10 Cricket League (TCL).

The West Indian batting hero will mentor a team led by Eoin Morgan, the England limited-overs captain, in the new, 10-over league.

“This is a great way to get things moving after Eoin Morgan agreed to take up the captain’s and brand ambassador’s roles for the Kings,” Shafi Ul Mulk, a co-owner of the Kerala franchise, said of Lara’s appointment.


Read more

'Total guarantee' TCL will avoid pitfalls of MCL

Afridi and Morgan to star in first T10 league


Lara made a return to the playing field in the UAE in February 2016, when he guided Leo Lions to the final of the ill-fated Masters Champions League. His involvement this time will be solely in a coaching capacity.

Kerala are one of six franchises in the TCL, which will be staged at Sharjah Cricket Stadium for four days from December 21.

The players draft, with around 120 players entered, will take place on October 25.

The TCL matches are designed to be completed within 90 minutes, with its organisers hoping it will emulate the popularity of Twenty20 cricket.

“I think we all remember when Twenty20 first broke, and it took a couple of years for everybody to register how big an impact it could have on our game,” Morgan said at the TCL launch event last week.

“I think if this has half an impact T20 did on the other formats, then we have a very interesting time ahead of us.”


Punjabi Legends Owners: Inzamam-ul-Haq and Intizar-ul-Haq; Key player: Misbah-ul-Haq

Pakhtoons Owners: Habib Khan and Tajuddin Khan; Key player: Shahid Afridi

Maratha Arabians Owners: Sohail Khan, Ali Tumbi, Parvez Khan; Key player: Virender Sehwag

Bangla Tigers Owners: Shirajuddin Alam, Yasin Choudhary, Neelesh Bhatnager, Anis and Rizwan Sajan; Key player: TBC

Colombo Lions Owners: Sri Lanka Cricket; Key player: TBC

Kerala Kings Owners: Hussain Adam Ali and Shafi Ul Mulk; Key player: Eoin Morgan

Venue Sharjah Cricket Stadium

Format 10 overs per side, matches last for 90 minutes

Timeline October 25: Around 120 players to be entered into a draft, to be held in Dubai; December 21: Matches start; December 24: Finals