x Abu Dhabi, UAEWednesday 24 January 2018

Champions Trophy round-up: Michael Clarke ruled out of New Zealand match

And West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin accepts two-game ban for falsely claiming catch against Pakistan.

Michael Clarke, left, and England's Kevin Pietersen are both missing out of the ongoing ICC Champions Trophy with injuries. Philip Brown / Reuters
Michael Clarke, left, and England's Kevin Pietersen are both missing out of the ongoing ICC Champions Trophy with injuries. Philip Brown / Reuters

Michael Clarke, the Australia captain, has not recovered from his back injury and will miss the side's second ICC Champions Trophy group match against New Zealand, Cricket Australia (CA) said on Tuesday.

Clarke missed Australia's opening match on Saturday when Australia lost to England by 48 runs and will also sit out Wednesday's crucial match against their trans-Tasman rivals at Edgbaston.

"Michael is continuing to have intensive treatment in London, and whilst he is making good progress, he has not improved sufficiently enough to play the game against New Zealand on Wednesday," CA physiotherapist Alex Kountouris said in a statement.

"We will continue to monitor his progress and determine his availability for next week's final group game against Sri Lanka."

Australia will play Sri Lanka in their final Group A match at The Oval in London on Monday.

Ramdin accepts ban

Denesh Ramdin will not appeal his two-match ban for falsely claiming a catch during the West Indies' two-wicket victory over Pakistan last week, the West Indies Cricket Board has announced.

Ramdin celebrated taking the wicket of Misbah ul-Haq at the Kia Oval last Friday after appearing to catch the ball after it flew off the Pakistan captain's inside edge.

Replays showed Ramdin had grounded the catch and then scooped it up again, causing the batsman to be reinstated.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) took a dim view of Ramdin's actions, banning him for two games and fining him his match fee after finding him guilty of ''conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game'' in the Champions Trophy Group B match.

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) revealed last night that Ramdin would not be contesting the punishment.

The WICB tweeted: "Wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has decided not to appeal his suspension and fine. He will therefore miss the matches vs India and South Africa."

Chris Broad, of the ICC's elite panel of match referees, adjudicated on the matter.

Broad said: ''This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game.

"I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."

Ramdin will be available for the semi-finals should the Windies progress from Group B.

They play their second group stage game on Tuesday at the Kia Oval against India.

sports@thenational.ae

twitter Follow us @SprtNationalUAE