x Abu Dhabi, UAETuesday 24 October 2017

Four new hotel openings in Asia 

Luxury and design-focused brands continue to take off in China and beyond

Vue Hotel Houhai Beijing. Courtesy of designhotels.com
Vue Hotel Houhai Beijing. Courtesy of designhotels.com

Rosewood resort and Sense spa on tropical Hainan Island, China

Fans of Rosewood Hotels & Resorts can now book into the Rosewood Sanya on China’s Hainan Island. Located on Haitang Bay on the south coast of the island, the resort-style hotel has 246 rooms and suites, five restaurants, a Sense spa, fitness centre and several pools. The hotel opens on Monday (August 21); rooms cost from Cny1,376 (Dh755) per night including taxes.

Ocean View Suite-Bedroom of Rosewood Sanya. Courtesy Rosewood Sanya
Ocean View Suite-Bedroom of Rosewood Sanya. Courtesy Rosewood Sanya

Myanmar gets a boutique hotel

Hotel G Yangon, an 85-room hotel located in the downtown area Yaw Min Gyi, is taking bookings ahead of its opening on September 7. The hotel is managed by GCP Hospitality, a Bangkok-based company with hotels across Asia. The Hotel G Yangon offers fast Wi-Fi, a fitness centre and restaurant. Rooms are named “good”, “great”, “greater” and “greatest”, and start at 15 square metres in size. Amenities include a complimentary mobile phone for local and international roaming, a pillow menu and e-reader. There is an opening discount of up to 40 per cent off rates until December 31. Rooms cost from US$64.40 (Dh236) per night including taxes.

Rendering of Hotel G Yangon. Courtesy GCP Hospitality
Rendering of Hotel G Yangon. Courtesy GCP Hospitality

Design Hotels expand with two properties in Beijing and Taiwan

The Berlin-based Design Hotels group has opened the Vue Hotel Houhai in Beijing. The lakeside hotel has 80 rooms and is set in 1950s buildings in the Yangfang Hutong in the central Xicheng District. Bold architecture by the Singapore-based Ministry of Design blends a variety of features including a landscaped garden, bakery cafe, a restaurant in a warehouse and ultra-modern bedrooms. Rooms from Cny1,538 per night (Dh845) including taxes. On the southernmost tip of Taiwan in Kenting National Park, in what used to be Chiang Kai-shek’s official guesthouse, Gloria Manor is now a minimalistic 60-room retreat. Rooms cost from Twd6,600 (Dh800) including taxes.

Gloria Manor. Courtesy of designhotels.com
Gloria Manor. Courtesy of designhotels.com

The opening of this hotel follows the arrival of the Hotel Proverbs Taipei, a 42-room postmodern structure in the capital’s Eastern District, between the Zhongzheng and Songshan areas. Rooms from Twd7,265(Dh880) per night including taxes and breakfast.

Hotel Proverbs Taipei in Taipei, Taiwan. Courtesy Design Hotels
Hotel Proverbs Taipei in Taipei, Taiwan. Courtesy Design Hotels