M&M's are haram in the UK: plus, other snacks that are sometimes not halal
M&M's UK Twitter account confirmed the snack is not suitable for a halal diet: but, rest assured, those sold in the UAE are always halal
While this is nothing new, the fact that the M&Ms sold in many countries are not suitable for a halal diet has had social-media users up in arms over the past few weeks.
It all started innocently enough: @TheLifeOfBako asked M&M's UK on Twitter to clarify whether or not the chocolate snack is halal.
"Hi, thanks for getting in touch," they replied that same day. "M&M's are not suitable for a halal diet. We use additives that come from animal products when we're making M&M's and traces of these can be found in sweets.
"Kind regards," it signed off, casually, as if this confirmation wasn't going to shatter thousands of Muslim chocolate-lovers' illusions.
Don't worry, in some countries (like here in the UAE), the company has created halal-friendly versions of its sweet.
"Where we have Halal-certified products, this is indicated on the product packaging," the account added.
But, back to the UK, there was a mini Twitter storm:
While you can rest assured that everything sold in standard supermarket shelves, cinemas, cafes, etc in the UAE is halal, when travelling, there are a few other snacks and ingredients that you should avoid. Be careful of the below, unless it says it's halal (or suitable for vegetarians/vegans) on the packet:
Skittles (some flavours)
Snack cakes (like Twinkies)
Updated: March 24, 2019 11:48 AM