Abu Dhabi, UAESaturday 19 September 2020

Independent Spirit Awards 2020: Jennifer Lopez, Scarlett Johansson and more hit the red carpet

Renee Zellweger and Adam Sandler were among the stars honoured on the night

The end of awards season is almost upon us – but before tonight's Oscars, stars of the screen gathered for yet another ceremony to fete the best of the year's work.

The 35th annual Independent Spirit Awards were held in Santa Monica, California, on Saturday, February 8, with A-list names such as Jennifer Lopez, Laura Dern and Scarlett Johansson in attendance.

Also walking the red carpet was Renee Zellweger, who took home the statue for Best Actress on the night, thanks to her role as Judy Garland in Judy. Adam Sandler, meanwhile, was honoured for his role in Uncut Gems, scoring the Best Actor trophy.

Scroll through the gallery above to see all the stars on the red carpet at the Independent Spirit Awards 2020.

The Independent Spirit Awards were created to celebrate indie films created on smaller budgets than many of Hollywood's multi-million-dollar blockbusters.

Also recognised at this year's ceremony was Lulu Wang's drama The Farewell, which won Best Feature Film, as well as Boon Jong-ho's Parasite, which claimed Best International Film.

Here is a full list of winners from the night:

Best Feature Film: The Farewell

Best First Feature: Booksmart

Best Female Lead: Renee Zellweger, Judy

Best Male Lead: Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems

Best Director: Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie, Uncut Gems

Best Documentary: American Factory

Best Supporting Male: Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse

Best Supporting Female: Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Robert Altman Award: The ensemble cast, director and casting director of Marriage Story

Best Screenplay: Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story

Best First Screenplay: Fredrica Bailey and Stefon Bristol, See You Yesterday

Best Editing: Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie, Uncut Gems

Best Cinematography: Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse

Best International Film: Parasite

John Cassavetes Award: Give Me Liberty

Piaget Producers Award: Mollye Asher

Someone to Watch Award: Rashaad Ernesto Green, Premature

Truer Than Fiction Award: Nadia Shihab, Jaddoland

The Bonnie Award: Kelly Reichardt

Updated: February 9, 2020 09:57 AM

Editor's Picks
Sign up to our daily email
Most Popular