Abu Dhabi, UAETuesday 11 December 2018

Timeframe: The winners' podium at the first Abu Dhabi F1 in 2009 

The final race of the season decided second and third place, and gave Vettel a place in Abu Dhabi history

Mark Thompson / Getty Images
Mark Thompson / Getty Images

The very first Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, on November 1, 2009, was the final race of a season in which the title had already been won by Jenson Button, right, two weeks earlier in Brazil.

In that race, second and third place in the season were decided with just two points between Sebastian Vettel, second right, and Rubens Barrichello. After 55 laps around the 5.55-kilometre track, Vettel claimed the victory, taking first place on the podium and second in the season overall. His Red Bull Racing teammate, Mark Webber, far left, came second, and champion Button came third. Barichello finished the season overall in third place.

Christian Horner, second left, celebrated the constructors’ race win for Red Bull Racing, with the season’s title going to Brawn GP.


Read more:

A decade of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Season over too soon for in-form Vettel

From Guns N' Roses to Craig David: the ultimate guide to this year's Abu Dhabi F1 music gigs