x Abu Dhabi, UAEMonday 22 January 2018

Hear the winning IPAF author

Visitors to the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair will get a chance to meet the winners of the International Prize for Arabic Fiction.

The winner of this year’s “Arabic Booker” as the International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) is often known, will be announced on April 29 and visitors to the book fair will be among the first to congratulate the recipient, who’ll be on the Discussion Sofa at 6.30pm the following day.

Six authors have been shortlisted this year: Moroccan novelist, screenwriter and playwright Youssef Fadel; Iraqi novelist, journalist and filmmaker Inaam Kachachi; Syrian-born Khaled Khalifa, a novelist, screenwriter and journalist; Moroccan novelist Abdelrahim Lahbibi; Ahmed Mourad, an Egyptian novelist and filmmaker; and, Ahmed Saadawi, an Iraqi novelist, poet, screenwriter and filmmaker.

The winner will get US$50,000 and have their novel published in English. The IPAF is funded by TCA Abu Dhabi and supported by the Booker Prize Foundation.

Previous IPAF winners

2013 Saud Alsanousi

2012 Rabee Jaber

2011 Mohammed Achaari and Raja Alem

2010 Abdo Khal

2009 Youssef Ziedan

2008 Bahaa Taher