Abu Dhabi, UAESaturday 4 April 2020

From novels to non-fiction: The 15 best books out on shelves this March

These are the books to download now on your e-reader

Clockwise from top left: 'Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of America' by Gerald Posner; 'The Red Lotus: A Novel' by Chris Bohjalian; 'The Genius Life: Heal Your Mind, Strengthen Your Body, and Become Extraordinary' by Max Lugavere; 'Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You' by Jason Reynolds; 'The Jetsetters: A Novel' by Amanda Eyre Ward; 'Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot' by Mikki Kendall; 'Untamed' by Glennon Doyle; 'How to Be an Artist' by Jerry Saltz
Clockwise from top left: 'Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of America' by Gerald Posner; 'The Red Lotus: A Novel' by Chris Bohjalian; 'The Genius Life: Heal Your Mind, Strengthen Your Body, and Become Extraordinary' by Max Lugavere; 'Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You' by Jason Reynolds; 'The Jetsetters: A Novel' by Amanda Eyre Ward; 'Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot' by Mikki Kendall; 'Untamed' by Glennon Doyle; 'How to Be an Artist' by Jerry Saltz

From beautiful novels about human nature, to memoirs by parents and the latest non-fiction pieces on racism and feminism, this month's bookshelves are filled with intellectually stimulating tomes that will make self-isolation that much more bearable.

The Night Watchman

by Louise Erdrich

The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich
'The Night Watchman' by Louise Erdrich

This is based on the extraordinary life of the author’s grandfather, who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington DC. In her latest novel, the National Book Award-winner creates a fictional world populated with memorable characters who are forced to grapple with the worst and best impulses of human nature.

Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You

by Jason Reynolds

Stamped presents itself as a ‘remix’ of the Ibram X Kendi book Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America. The book explores how racist ideas still linger and shines a light on the many insidious forms – and on ways readers can identify and stamp out racist thoughts in their daily lives.

Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot

by Mikki Kendall

Kendall’s searing collection of essays draws from her own experiences with hunger, violence and hypersexualization, along with incisive commentary on politics, pop culture and the stigma of mental health. She takes aim at the legitimacy of the modern feminist movement arguing that it has failed to address the needs of all but a few women.

The Adventurer's Son: A Memoir

by Roman Dial

The Adventurer's Son: A Memoir by Roman Dial
'The Adventurer's Son: A Memoir' by Roman Dial

The 27-year-old son of Roman Dial, an Alaskan scientist and National Geographic explorer, disappeared in Corcovado National Park, an untracked rainforest along Costa Rica’s remote Pacific coast that shelters miners, poachers and drug smugglers. The Adventurer’s Son is Dial’s extraordinary account of his two-year quest to unravel the mystery of his son’s fate.

Untamed

by Glennon Doyle

In her most revealing and powerful memoir yet, the bestselling author explores the joy and peace we discover when we stop striving to meet the expectations of the world, and start trusting the voice deep within us. It is the story of how one woman learned that a responsible mother is not one who slowly dies for her children, but one who shows them how to fully live.

The Red Lotus: A Novel

by Chris Bohjalian

Chris Bohjalian, the New York Times bestselling author of Midwives and The Flight Attendant, brings us a twisting story of love and deceit. An American man vanishes on a rural road in Vietnam, and his girlfriend, an emergency room doctor trained to ask questions, follows a path that leads her to the same hospital where they met.

The Jetsetters: A Novel

by Amanda Eyre Ward

The Jetsetters: A Novel by Amanda Eyre Ward. Courtesy Penguin Random House
'The Jetsetters: A Novel' by Amanda Eyre Ward. Courtesy Penguin Random House

In the vein of The Nest and The Vacationers, this the newest novel by bestselling author Amanda Eyre Ward. The story revolves around 70-year-old Charlotte Perkins, who submits an essay to the Become a Jetsetter contest with hopes of reuniting her estranged children.

How to Be an Artist

by Jerry Saltz

Jerry Saltz offers invaluable insight into what really matters to emerging artists, from the first sparks of inspiration and how to pursue them without giving in to self-doubt. The book is brimming with rules, prompts and practical tips, giving artists new ways to break through creative blocks, get the most from materials, navigate career challenges and, above all, find joy in their work.

The Genius Life: Heal Your Mind, Strengthen Your Body, and Become Extraordinary

by Max Lugavere

The Genius Life: Heal Your Mind, Strengthen Your Body, and Become Extraordinary by Max Lugavere. Courtesy Harper Wave
'The Genius Life: Heal Your Mind, Strengthen Your Body, and Become Extraordinary' by Max Lugavere. Courtesy Harper Wave

In The Genius Life, Max Lugavere expands the Genius Foods plan, which focused on nutrition and how it affects brain health, and expands it to encompass a full lifestyle protocol. Drawing on globe-spanning research into circadian biology, psychology, dementia prevention, cognitive optimisation and exercise physiology, The Genius Life shows how to integrate healthy choices in all aspects of our daily routines

Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of America

by Gerald Posner

Award-winning journalist and New York Times bestselling author Gerald Posner traces the heroes and villains of the trillion-dollar-a-year pharmaceutical industry and uncovers how those once entrusted with improving life have often betrayed that ideal for corruption and reckless profiteering – with deadly consequences.

The Mirror and the Light

by Hilary Mantel

With her latest novel, award-winning author Hilary Mantel brings her Thomas Cromwell trilogy to a close, completing the statesman’s journey to one of the most feared figures of his time.

My Dark Vanessa

Kate Elizabeth Russell

This much-anticipated debut novel tells the story of a woman forced to revisit a relationship forged with her teacher when she was his student.

Capital and Ideology

Thomas Piketty

Capital and Ideology – Thomas Piketty
'Capital and Ideology' by Thomas Piketty

This follow-up to Capital in the Twenty-First Century exposes the failings of modern politics and proposes a structure for a fairer economic system.

New Waves: A Novel

Kevin Nguyen

A pacy, debut that charts a heist by two tech start-up employees. After they steal their company’s user database, things quickly escalate in a wry look at the tech world.

Good Citizens Need Not Fear

Maria Reva

In a collection of short stories, the tales of several residents of a single apartment building in Ukraine are united. It is set around the collapse of the Soviet Union.

_________________

Read more:

From Charles Bukowski to Mary Oliver: Seven poems you should read during difficult times

Need a literary pick-me-up? These 16 hilarious books will help lift your spirits

'It inspired people to read in Arabic again': Dubai author explores modern concept of identity with new book

_________________

Updated: March 24, 2020 01:57 PM

SHARE

SHARE

Most Popular